tulips

tulips

Saturday, April 16, 2016

Lists are overrated...

I am feeling So good!!!  It feels good to feel good!  There are moments when I feel like I did before surgery but then things remind me that I am not as far along as I sometimes think... and I am listening to my body and not pushing it....

Today I was optimistic about what I would be able to get done... and so I made a list:
- return passport application to the post office and get it processed (Yes it IS about time to get a passport!) 
- get gas
- Mani/Pedi
- find some spring shirts
- make something delicious to eat (finding going out to eat right now is not agreeing with my stomach so staying in is better, but finding motivation to make something is lacking!)
- Stop at Target to pick up a few things
-Go and pick out a nice color to paint the shelf for the soon to be herb garden
- Go downtown and walk around and just enjoy the sun and one of my favorite cities and MAYBE sneak into my favorite gelato place and get their flavor of the week raspberry cookie dough gelato!  (Their Netflix and Chill flavor sounds great too...caramel, peanut butter cups,  brownie bites and maybe a few kisses.... ) and maybe take an old ring I have to the jeweler to see if it is possible to be resized.... (belonged to a deceased old cousin who was also an educator...I have had it for a while, but been thinking I would like to start wearing it.) 
- do some laundry

Well... I slept until about 9:00... which is great except that I was awake until like 2 a.m. (not sure why) so I was lazy and watched tv for a bit... then my neighbor texted and told me flowers had been delivered to their house because I had not answered my door... (hmm... didn't hear anyone at my door... may have to figure that out...)  So I got up and showered and went over to get the flowers... (that was probably around 10 or a bit after) they were beautiful... from my fellow administrators... and came home... I made some breakfast  and gathered some laundry and got that going in the washer... and before I knew it, it was like 2:00??  So... Immediately cross off going to the post office as the passport window closed at noon... (add it to next week's list) ... so decided I would go for the mani pedi to be followed by walking around downtown... well the place I like to go to get mani/pedi was packed!  Usually I get there, pick my colors, and sit down and things get started... but today there wasn't an empty seat... but because I really like them, I decided to wait.. in all I sat for about 25 minutes waiting for an opening.  Got my mani pedi... which was very relaxing... sometimes it is fun to go with friends, having time to catch up, but I have to say, today it was nice to be solo and not need to engage in conversation.  (though I did eavesdrop on other conversations...There was an elderly woman who came in and was in the chair beside me... she was a regular... I could tell because she knew all the people working there by name and they doted on her, which was sweet to see.  She said 'my regular' please...and they knew she just wanted her toenails trimmed and painted...painted a very neutral color... and even though they were busy and were asking other people to finish drying in the other room with the dryers, they asked her to just sit and relax in the comfortable chairs and encouraged her to do a few more rounds of massage from the automated chair... she seemed so tickled...she kept asking them if she should go, to give someone else her chair and seemed so incredibly tickled when they would tell her her nails were not yet dry and they needed her to stay.  They all updated her on their kids and their travels and asked about hers in return... it was fun to watch.  This is one of the reasons I like this particular salon. ) By the time I finished there it was almost 4... and my motivation,  to find parking downtown, dropped... knowing the temperature would be dropping a bit as the sun was going down, didn't make walking around as enjoyable... (maybe tomorrow... but the gelato?? man I forgot about the gelato until I started this entry... )... so then I decided to see if I could find a couple of spring shirts... goodness knows I have enough clothes, but... retail therapy was something I needed and want some variety of things that are not sweaters and long sleeves.... I stopped at two places... and found a couple of shirts...but didn't have the desire to try them on at the store... I bought them and if they don't work, will take them back.  After leaving the clothing store... I was at the intersection where I could go straight, which would lead to going home, or going left, which led to getting gas and going to target... in my head, left would mean having to do both... and I kind of just wanted to come home... get some food going and relax... I'm tired... not from the surgery, but from not sleeping much last night... so... I drove straight... came home... and here I am...

I will probably put the laundry into the dryer... and will probably make some food (of course there's always toast) ... but will definitely relax.... 

So... today's lesson... is that making lists is not a bad thing to do... but... letting myself off the hook for not checking off all the items is also okay... could I have done at least a couple more things...of course, but decided to come home and stretch out a bit... (As good as I am feeling I still find that after being up and around for any length of time results in needing to take some time to recline or lay down... as many people have told me... 'you only heal once'... and I am keeping that in the forefront of my mind....

So... that's a brief update... time to make some dinner...or.... sit and see if my personal chef shows up... but that could result in a lot of sitting and waiting...


No comments:

Post a Comment